Beginnings

I have decided to embrace a new beginning. A blog.

Some of you have been encouraging this for a while. And some of you have told be I should write a book (I am trying) or a movie about all my new beginnings recently. I just didn’t feel like I had enough to say. Or maybe I just didn’t know what to say.

So what’s changed? Recently, a friend asked me to be a part of a Bible study group. She is someone so close to my heart that I leapt at the chance to share this deeper connection with her and other like minded (but religiously different from me) ladies.

It has been a few weeks and I feel like my responses are always more like essays than they are just a quick summation of my thoughts.

But what really did it was an email from my dad. He sent me an article that was an open letter to daughters. I wrote back with the intention of thanking him for sharing it with me. It turned into a long letter, which by the end I was writing through tear blurred eyes.

I have things to say. I have had experiences to share. And although I have begun this grand new adventure (because really I began the adventure the day I was born, moving away is simply a new adventure) I miss my friends and family, my people.

So, if I am going to do this, who is my audience? What is my purpose? Do I have writing goals? I know, my inner English teacher is showing.

Audience: You, whomever you are. My friends and family back home. You wanted to be up to date on my life now that two mountain ranges some dessert and miles of highway divide us. Myself, I confess (maybe for the first time) that I love to write.

Purpose: To share my thoughts and experiences on this journey of life. To chronicle my adventures. But not as a journal. As a collection of insights and experiences, on one thing, which is really everything, life.

Goals: I would love to say, that I will post once a week. Seems like a good goal doesn’t it? But really I would only like to post when I have something to say, something that I feel is meaningful and worthwhile. So while I say my goal is once a week, I am pretty sure I will revise that.

Whether you accompany me for this whole journey or not, thanks for being a part of it.

4 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. Dear Amiee Blog away! I look forward to reading what you discover along the way. Miss you but excited for your new adventures in CO. Always enjoy talking with you, so reading your blog will have to be the next best thing for now.

  2. I look forward to you sharing yor blog. You have a gift of being able to express yourself, not only verbally, but with the written word also. Let it flow. Love Dad

  3. Well my dear niece it is nice to see some of your thoughts on paper, (ok on a computer screen, you know what I mean). I feel i can share your journey as I read your words, without having to experience snow. I like that, alot. I am open eyes. open mind and open heart, excited for the journey ahead,….let’s go!!!!

Leave a Reply

